T: 01243 786993 - 07786 693348 | Contact

2019 Testimonials

“Please can I thank you personally for the voice you have given to those involved with Shrewsbury and Telford who previously do not appear to have had one.

NHS colleague
December 2019

“I have just heard that you are leading  the  maternity enquiry at Telford and I can think of no one more suitable. Not only are you very highly thought of professionally, but you have always shown integrity in all that you undertake. Many families will owe you a great deal for your sensitive, thorough and transparent work.

Former colleague
December 2019

“I cannot think of a better person to ensure that  family voices will be  listened to, heard  and acted upon in the maternity review you are leading at Shrewsbury and Telford NHS Trust.

Former colleague Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust
December 2019

“It is reassuring to know that our case is being looked into by so many professionals. I also appreciate just how much bigger the review has gotten for you since you opened it. You and your team are doing such an important and valuable job in helping all of the devastated families.

Mr H,
December 2019

“Donna thank you so much, you have given me so much support and I just want to say thank you very much I will never forget the help you have given me even just by listening to me, it all helps and I just want you to know I will never forget you for the help and support.

Ms J
November 2019

“I know my secretary has been in touch with you recently regarding the work of Orving Community Watch. We held our October tea party on the 30th and the proceeds of our raffle are enclosed for your work in the Chichester area with the homeless.

A, Chichester
October 2019

” On World Homeless Day, God bless you for the work that you do.

Anonymous donor, Chichester
October 2019

“To all at the Four Streets team, with many thanks for all you have done for me over the past year, with love and affection you all will be in my thoughts and in my heart.

Anonymous, Chichester
October 2019

“The enclosed cheque for Four Streets comes from the Slindon village harvest supper. I hope the project continues to go from strength to strength, and well done for all your school visits and talks recently!

R, Chichester
October 2019

“It was a pleasure to see you recently when you visited the maternity service here in Cornwall. I hope you enjoyed your visit and seeing the work we are doing for our women and families. The team and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very generous donation of the lovely bedding for our bereavement suite. It was a shame you were not able to see this lovely facility for yourself but glad we could show you our remembrance tree and our wonderful counselling room. With kind regards.

Head of Midwifery, Royal Cornwall Hospitals
October 2019

“I had the pleasure of meeting you earlier this year. At the end of our conversation you had requested that I keep you updated on my progress during my final my months of the course. I have since completed the direct entry midwifery programme. At the beginning of October I commenced working as a pre-registration midwife. As my pin is now active, I will be employed as a band 5 midwife. I hope this message finds you well and I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your encouragement when I met you.

Newly registered midwife ‘H’
October 2019

“Just wanted to say thank you for all your help so far. I saw my doctor last week and I’ve been referred to another trust for a check over to see what’s going on. I couldn’t have done anything without you. Thank you once again.

Ms H
October 2019

“Well thank goodness for you and Four Streets Project – there seems to be more and more people in need on the streets of Chichester now…..thank you so much for your prompt reply

D S, Chichester
October 2019

“Just to say a huge thank you for visiting our maternity unit at SMH today. The staff and women in our care really enjoyed talking to you. Looking forward to seeing you back and this time at QCCH.

Deputy Divisional Director of Nursing & Midwifery, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
September 2019

” I’m honestly so grateful to you for everything you’re doing. It means so much to be heard finally, and to be getting the help I’ve been asking for, for years. Thank you.

Ms P
August 2019

“Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for the lovely praise, I will share this with my teams who I know will feel the same. We look forward to seeing you again in later in the year.

Head of Midwifery and Assistant Director of Nursing, South West England NHS Trust
June 2019

“Thank you very much for your very generous donation of vouchers for a restaurant and beauty salon in Chichester. They were won by people who definitely appreciated them. We think we made at least £1500 which is a very helpful sum for our 12th century church. On behalf of the events planning team, once again thank you for your generosity.

M, Local 12th Century Church Fundraising Team
June 2019

“I just wanted to say a big thank you for all you are doing, we are so incredibly grateful. Thank you also for being so lovely and allowing me to tell my story in such an informal way. I was so nervous leading up to the meeting but you made me feel so relaxed and able to talk, thank you.

Mother
June 2019

” Thank you so much for Friday’s talk. I spoke to some of the children at break today to ask them about it, and they were positively raving and had clearly been fully engaged in all that you had to say. What an impact you have made! It sounds as though it was a wonderful morning, and I am delighted that you were able to come.

Head Teacher, Local school in Chichester
June 2019

“What an encouraging and refreshing talk by @DOckendenLtd today at our Midwifery Conference! As a student of 6 weeks my attention and interest was truly captured… You had me at ‘Hello my name is Donna’ #midwiferystudent #conference #UWL #midwives #NMC

@juliet_larson, University of West London
May 2019

“Great speech, thank you!

@Gina88_123, University of West London
May 2019

” Thank you so much for coming to our midwifery conference today and giving such a positive presentation

HS, University of West London
May 2019

” Perfectly pitched, such an inspirational and positive presentation

Course Leader, University of West London
May 2019

” My night angels – thank you for your amazing support

Ms J – supported on the streets by The Four Streets Project
March 2019

” I have found that you have been a fantastic lead and point of contact

Ms M, Shropshire
March 2019

” Thanks for your support as ever!

Ms K, Shropshire
March 2019

“We really appreciate the honest feedback and the thorough way in which you have organised the review. It is impressive and has showed how independent it is.

A family member, Shropshire
March 2019

“I have faith that your team will do a top-quality unbiased job

Ms A
March 2019

” It was a pleasure to meet you and to see how you are racing around the country talking to ‘real’ midwives. We have seen your wonderful tweets that you were so quick to produce. A joy to read and to spread the word. Thank you for your kind words. The midwives loved them. Hope to meet you again somewhere.

Birth Centre Lead. Midwife J
February 2019

” Thank you to you all, even when I shouted at you I was glad you came. It gave structure to my evenings knowing you would always come and reminded me I was worth something not worthless. You were my lifeline.

Ms M – supported by the Four Streets
Now in housing and no longer on the streets
February 2019

“Once again Donna, many, many thanks, you have helped mend my broken heart

Mrs S
February 2019

“Thanks so much for everything you are doing on behalf of me and so many others, I really do appreciate it.

Ms P
January 2019

“I’m very humbled by all the hard work and dedication you have shown, I’m feeling a lot at peace, emotional and happy all at the same time

Mrs S
January 2019

” I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your relentless work in exposing the unacceptable care and treatment that vulnerable people with Dementia endured on the Dementia assessment ward  Tawel Fan, Ysbyty Glan Clwyd,  BCUHB. Your first report published in June 2015 was the catalyst to the review of the Governance arrangements that were in place at the time of the Tawel Fan scandal and up to the early part of 2018. Your Governance review highlighted a lack of governance and major system failures that permeated throughout Older People’s Mental Health Services in North Wales.

My family and I will always be grateful for your genuine kindness, support, honesty and objectivity throughout a very difficult time. Your resilience and determination in the search for the evidenced truth is commendable.

It remains to be seen if BCUHB will make any significant progress in improving the care and treatment of people with Dementia and the wider services of Older People’s Mental Health Services following your Governance Review, but there is some comfort to be had in that these services are no longer under the radar but are now under a very bright spotlight. For that, I also thank you.

Mrs J, North Wales
January 2019